How difficult it is to get your first customer?

“A lot of times, people don’t know what they want until you show it to them”

——Steve Jobs

s3-news-tmp-114803-customer-ecosystem--default--1280

photo from Internet

During my short stay in Los Angeles, I had a casual talk with a young playwright in a lobby. Unintentionally, I recommended(sold) a book to her successfully through our casual talk. She didn’t get a professional play writing training before, but she was so passionate that she left her home to Los Angeles to realize her artistic dream. After we found out that we shared a same interest in film, our topic focused on storytelling (awareness). When I mentioned the relation between the plot and character, she seemed to be interested in the knowledge in playwriting filed (interest). Then, I explained to her more about the book, Story, and how great Robert Mckee (the author of this book) was in training young playwrights (consideration). She added my Instagram, took the notes of the book and told me that she would like to buy one to read.

First of all, I didn’t mean to recommend/sell Robert Mckee’s book to her. However, when I think back of our whole conversation, the truth is that I have sold a book in a casual talk. I think personal connection/recommendation can be our first step to get our customers.

This unpredictable coincidence raises my interest in comparing different methods in getting our first group of customers.

A platform/app which provides the exposure opportunity for you in professional world, and engagement opportunity for you and your audience:

Will you be interested in the platform/app when you see it on social media?

Visual Artist Y: How can I know that this app will function as it describes? How much do I have to pay for using this app?

Scriptwriter J: Yes, I will give it a try.

Will you be interested in the platform/app when someone you know recommends it to you?

Visual Artist Y: Depends on the person who recommends to me. If it is recommended by some peer artists that I trust, I will consider about it. Still depends on the cost, if you recommend this app to me, I can afford no more than 150 USD for the total expense.

Scriptwriter J: Yes, if people around me recommend it to me, I’ll try it.

I think for this week’s class, we’d better figure out who is the user and who is the buyer for the product. Both of social media and personal connection work, but it seems customer’s decision will be influenced by the price.

Cheers

Dong

Leave a comment